Drop Box , a popular file sharing platform available on multiple platforms, helps users collaborate easily and is an ideal solution for file management. It allows users to share files on the cloud and also helps in efficient file access and control. However, there may be times when you want to delete some files from your Dropbox account to free up space on your computer.ContentsDifferent ways to delete files from Dropbox without deleting them1]Delete from dropbox.com but keep local Dropbox folder2]Delete files from hard drive but keep them in online account3]Using Smart Sync option1]Steps to enable Smart Sync:2]Steps to enable the "Automatically save hard drive space" option "Delete from Dropbox" permanently delete files?How to clean up Dropbox?
You can delete files from Dropbox using a browser and an app, which gives you some flexibility. Also, you can restore deleted files within a month if you change your mind. Dropbox syncs all files and folders in the Dropbox folder on your computer. If you delete files from your online Dropbox, Dropbox will resync the files and remove any deleted files from dropbox.com.
Today in this blog, we will be looking at ways to delete files from Dropbox without deleting them from your computer.
Here are some ways to delete files from Dropbox without deleting them.
Let's see how these solutions work.
If you want to delete a file/folder from Dropbox online but still want to keep the file in your local Dropbox folder, Dropbox does not provide an option for the same. But if you want to keep the file on the hard drive, you can move the file/folder from the local Dropbox folder to outside the Dropbox folder and keep it as a backup.
Now you can open the Dropbox account and delete required files and free up space. Be sure to move the file/folder from the local Dropbox folder first, then delete it from the online account. If you don't, Dropbox will sync and delete the file from the local folder.
You can now delete selected files/folders from your hard drive. These files/folders will still be available in your online account, but Dropbox will not sync them to your local folder. Selective sync options help you free up space on your hard drive by deleting files from the Dropbox folder without deleting them from the online account.
Follow the steps below to use the Smart Sync option.
Please note that Dropbox deletes files that are not used by the user within a few months. To delete a file from Dropbox without deleting it from your hard drive, you must first create a copy and then move it out of the Dropbox account. However, if you want to wipe your local hard drive by deleting Dropbox files without deleting them from the online account, you should use the Selective or Smart Sync feature.
Although Dropbox is a collaborative platform that helps users share files efficiently, it may not come with unlimited storage. So you need to delete files to free up space for new files/folders. So, now you can use the above mentioned methods to delete files from Dropbox without deleting them from your computer hard drive. Let us know in case of any questions.
When a file is deleted from Dropbox, it is no longer visible in any of the folders you see in your account. However, the file is only permanently deleted after your recovery window. Dropbox Basic, Plus, and Family accounts can recover deleted files for 30 days. For shared files, when you "unshare" a folder, the files are permanently deleted from each member's account. Files are also deleted from all associated devices the next time you sync the Dropbox desktop app.
Launch the Dropbox app and tap the Menu button at the top left of your screen (marked with three horizontal lines). Tap the gear icon to open the Settings menu. Scroll down the resulting menu and tap Clear cache.